Return to Headlines

CCS Chief Academic Officer Named to Chiefs for Change Leadership Cohort

January 13, 2023  

Dr. Stacey Wilson-Norman, chief academic officer for Cumberland County Schools (CCS), is one of nine school administrators from across the nation named to the Chiefs for Change Future Chiefs leadership development program. 

Chiefs for Change is a bipartisan network of state and district education leaders. As a participant in the 18-month Future Chiefs program, Dr. Wilson-Norman will engage in collective learning on issues central to effective leadership and receive coaching and mentorship from members of the Chiefs for Change network.

“Dr. Wilson-Norman is a phenomenal and innovative leader who is working diligently to transform the lives of students in CCS,” said Dr. Marvin Connelly, Jr., CCS superintendent. “She is a sterling example for others to emulate and is frequently called upon by educational leaders across the country for advice and guidance. I know this experience will strengthen her skill set, allowing her to make an even bigger impact on our school district and community.” 

Over the course of the program, Dr. Wilson-Norman will study systems management, shadow current chiefs, receive individual coaching, attend a variety of virtual and in-person sessions. 

“As a lifelong educator, I’m thankful for this opportunity to learn more about effective leadership,” said Dr. Wilson-Norman. “I’m excited to collaborate with other leaders as we work toward enhanced learning experiences and  improving student outcomes across the nation.”

Prior to joining CCS, Dr. Wilson-Norman served as the chief academic officer with the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Additionally, she has served students and families as a teacher, principal, assistant and deputy superintendent. During her distinguished career as an educator, Dr. Wilson-Norman has received numerous notable accolades, multiple recognitions and served on various boards and organizations. She has been recognized as Principal of the Year for Durham Public Schools and Central Office Administrator of the Year by the North Carolina Middle School Association. She is also the recipient of PowerSchool’s North Carolina Excellence in Leadership Award.