Mathematics Curriculum - Middle School

  • North Carolina's Standard Course of Study defines the appropriate content standards for each grade level and each high school course to provide a uniform set of learning standards for every public school in North Carolina. These standards define what students know and should be able to do.  Within the NCSCOS are the mathematical content standards and the Standards for Mathematical Practice (SMPs). The content standards provide a clear focus of content that must be mastered at each grade level, 6-8.  High School Standards specify the mathematics all students should study to be college and career-ready. They are organized by conceptual categories or themes: Number and Quantity, Algebra, Functions, Modeling, Geometry, and Statistics and Data. Equally important are the Standards for Mathematical Practice, describing the behaviors or ‘habits of mind’ of mathematically proficient students.

    Standards for Mathematical Practice  

    Middle School Math Curriculum 

    6th grade NC Standard Course of Study

    6th grade Big Ideas/Family materials 


    7th grade NC Standard Course of Study

    7th grade Big Ideas/Family materials 


    8th grade NC Standard Course of Study

    8th grade Big Ideas/Family materials 


    Additional Middle School Courses include 6th grade accelerated consisting of 6th and 7th grade standards, 7th grade accelerated consisting of 7th & 8th grade standards and Middle School Math 1(see NC Math 1 info in the High School section.)


Contact Us

  • Secondary Services
    2465 Gillespie Street
    Fayetteville, NC 28303
    Phone: 910-678-2420

    Dr. Christine Catalano
    Assistant Superintendent
    Secondary Services

    Charlene Board
    Administrative Assistant